Comments

  1. I commute regularly by bicycle to and from work. Mostly around 4 times a week, but it does vary depending on my schedule. I have found Johannesburg (where I have lived most of my life) to be completely and utterly bicycle unfriendly from the roads, to the facilities for parking, to the companies I have either worked for or visited. Shopping centres such as Clearwater mall are not bike friendly at all. There is no parking firstly, and then given the value of my bike, I am not about to leave it in some place that has no security. So I use shopping centres that are either bike friendly, or I am forced to travel by car.

    Companies such as FNB are also not bike friendly and do not allow for bikes to be taken into the office although some of the branches are a lot more bike friendly than Bank City.

    The roads are a joke. If they are not full of potholes, then they are likely to be badly repaired from potholes. I see recently the roads are being pained. What nut decided to paint them before repairing (and I mean resurfacing) them?? And then when not badly potholed or badly repaired, there is raw serwerage or some water leak that causes mayhem with cycling on the left hand side of the road.

    The more I live in this city, the more I realise that it’s not so much a world class African city so much as a world class sewer where the roads are potholes held together by bits of tar.

    Come on ANC, you have been in power for close on 20 years now and I have yet to see one JHB road (with the exception of the N1 / N12 / N3 being resurfaced. What do we pay rates and taxes for? (Thats a rhetorical question. We know it is being used and abused by a corrupt and inefiicent city management team.))

Leave a Reply

